08/18/24 – 3pm-6pm PT / 5-8pm CT / 6-9pm ET Current Controversies in Dental Pharmacology

$59.00
08/18/24 – 3pm-6pm PT / 5-8pm CT / 6-9pm ET Current Controversies in Dental Pharmacology

3 LIVE CE UNITS

Instructor: Tom Viola, R.Ph., CCP

As in many health professions, controversies abound in dentistry regarding best practices for rendering safe and effective patient care. In the arena of dental pharmacology, the most widely debated controversies center on the benefits versus the risks of antibiotic prophylaxis, the use of cannabis, and the use of osteoporosis treatments. This program will discuss the necessity for antibiotic prophylaxis prior to certain dental procedures versus the current guidelines for its use, the benefits of the use of cannabis versus the risk of its oral and systemic complications, and the benefits of osteoporosis treatments versus the risk of medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw.

Course Objectives

  1. Describe the pharmacology of the most common anti-infective agents used in dentistry and the indicated clinical conditions for anti-infective therapy in dentistry.
  2. Discuss recent controversies over the necessity for antibiotic prophylaxis prior to certain dental procedures versus the current guidelines for its use.
  3. Describe the pharmacology of cannabis, including its mechanism of action, routes of administration, and available formulations.
  4. Discuss recent controversies over the benefits of the use of cannabis versus the risk of its oral and systemic complications.
  5. Identify the various agents used in treating osteoporosis, including their mechanisms of action, contraindications and dental considerations.
  6. Discuss recent controversies over the benefits of osteoporosis treatments versus the risk of medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw.

About Live, Interactive Webcast Continuing Education Seminars:

A live, interactive webcast seminar is similar to attending a continuing education seminar in your community, except that you attend via your computer. Each course is done live in a format that allows your participation.

Anyone who has access to a computer that can play sound can participate in an ACES webcast seminar. No special computer knowledge or equipment is required to participate in our webcast seminars.

When you enroll in any ACES webcast course, you will be sent an e-mail with complete information on how to join the online seminar and a copy of the course syllabus. At the conclusion of your live seminar, you will complete a course examination online. You will then be able to print your continuing education certificate from your computer.


Advanced Continuing Education Systems is an ADA CERP Recognized provider for dental continuing education.

Advanced Continuing Education Systems (Provider RP4393) has been approved by the Dental Board of California as a provider of dental continuing education.

To learn more about ACES and this course: call 888-844-ACES or email aces@aces4ce.net